Socialist Constitution of the DPRK

With the development of socialist construction in the country, the Socialist Constitution of the DPRK was adopted on December 27, Juche 61 (1972).

The Socialist Constitution was amended and supplemented at the Fifth Session of the 12th Supreme People’s Assembly held on April 13, Juche 101 (2012). It codifies the Juche-oriented ideas of President Kim Il Sung and Chairman Kim Jong Il on State building and their exploits in it, and named the Kim Il Sung and Kim Jong Il Constitution.

It stipulates that Kim Il Sung is upheld as the eternal President of the DPRK and Kim Jong Il as the eternal Chairman of the National Defence Commission of the DPRK.

The Seventh Session of the 12th SPA held on April 1, Juche 102 (2013) amended and supplemented the preamble of the Socialist Constitution, that the Kumsusan Palace of the Sun where Kim Il Sung and Kim Jong Il are preserved in their lifetime appearances is a grand monument to their immortality and, a symbol of the dignity of all the Korean people and their eternal sanctuary, and adopted the DPRK Law on the Kumsusan Palace of the Sun.

It also stipulates the principles and ways of politics, the economy, culture and national defence, the fundamental rights and duties of citizens and the composition, duties and activity principles of State organs.

The Socialist Constitution consists of the preamble, seven chapters and 172 articles.

Link to the Socialist Constutituon of the DPRK